Breakfast of Wheat-Free Champions

Image

This is my favourite breakfast that I’ve made so far!  It’s just like the big breakfast I used to eat on Sundays with my parents, except it’s wheat free.

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 rice cake
  • 1 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • Honey
  • 1/2 a tomato
  • Dash of sea salt

Shred enough cheddar cheese to cover two poached eggs.  Break two eggs into a small pan on low heat. Cover in shredded cheese and let simmer until cooked to your desired firmness.  My pan is really terrible, so I add a bit of water to the pan once the eggs start firming up, just so they don’t stick.  It should only take about 2-4 minutes.  Then spread peanut butter on the rice cake and drizzle honey across it. Chop up half a tomato and add a bit of sea salt.  Place everything on a plate and you’re done!

I enjoy my breakfast with a cup of French vanilla coffee with coconut milk.

Oh and a tip for keeping you food warm: I place a wet paper towel onto the plate I’ll be using and put it in the microwave for 10-15 seconds.  It heats the plate up nicely which makes your breaky stay warm 🙂

Image

10 thoughts on “Breakfast of Wheat-Free Champions

  1. Looks good, except for the rice cake (can’t stand them). 🙂

    I’m going wheat-free tomorrow; found your blog on the Wheat Belly site.

    • I don’t go strictly by the book, but it does say rice (and other starches) are fine in limited quantities. These ones are organic brown rice with sea salt and nothing else.
      You can always leave the honey out, but honey has lots of anti-oxidants and health benefits, so it’s a trade off I guess. It’s a worthwhile cheat IMO 😉

  2. You might try making some coconut flour muffins to add more fiber and avoid the rice all together. I made Bruce Fife’s coconut blueberry muffins and one fills me up for hours. I also cook my eggs in coconut oil which is a natural appetite suppressant while adding important medium-chain fatty acids to your diet.

Leave a Reply

