Adding Coconut Oil to Your Wheat-Free Diet

Hey Wheatbeaters!

I’d like to share one of my little secrets for warding off mid-day hunger pangs.

It’s coconut oil.

A lot of people are resistant to adding something so high in fat to their diet, thinking that it will make them gain a ton of weight. I’ll admit—I was hesitant at first. But the thing is I just replaced my regular cooking oil (olive oil) with it so I don’t actually take in any extra calories per day. Coconut oil is healthy in so many ways! I find that two tablespoons per day (which is about 200 calories) WILL make you lose weight by making you feel full. 

To fit it into my current wheat-free diet, I changed up my breakfast plans a bit. Protein is absolutely essential to making me feel full and stopping me from gorging on carbs throughout the day. Seriously, if I haven’t had protein in the morning I will just wander aimlessly around the kitchen for an hour until I cave and eat bread. Previously, I have had two eggs and a rice cake with peanut butter for breakfast (with coffee, of course).
Now I start my day with the following:

  • a bowl of oatmeal (make sure the bag says gluten-free)
  • 1 tablespoon hemp hearts (nutty and delicious and keep you, erm, “regular”)
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons chia seeds
  • a splash of milk if it is too thick
  • 1/2 of a small banana diced (I highly recommend adding this because it makes it taste one zillion times better. One zillion.)

So just make your oatmeal and put all this healthy crap in it and voila! Honestly, it keeps me full beyond lunch a lot of the time. PLUS coconut oil has all these great qualities:

  • aids in digestion
  • makes your hair all shiny and stuff
  • prevents premature skin aging (also, reduced my red marks from acne SIGNIFICANTLY)
  • promotes immune system health
  • reduces the risk of Alzheimer’s Disease (never hurts to start early!)
  • increases weight loss

There are a million more things that could be added to that list but those are some of the biggies. So I guess my point is that you should add coconut oil to your diet, stop using the other oils, and maybe even comment on this post about how that works for you! I love hearing back from everyone about their progress 🙂

PS: You can add a bit to your dog’s food and his coat will get shinier. Gentle Ben likes it!

Image

4 thoughts on “Adding Coconut Oil to Your Wheat-Free Diet

  1. So we just recently discovered the Wheat Belly book and are making some changes in our lives. I want to thank you for your blog. I love your tips and sense of humor. A LOT!!!
    Please keep posting…:)

  2. Hi!
    Just wanted to say that your blog is going to be my starting foundation to my cut-the-wheat plan! 🙂 It’s funny because as I read more of your posts, I’ve realized I have a lot of the same “issues” if you will; poor complexion, terrible with directions, hooked on carbs in any/all forms, not fat but have enough “excess belly” that I want to eliminate it..
    I tried to cut down on bread products about a month ago and failed miserably.. I don’t know how I’m going to do this but I’m hoping my will power will increasewith time.
    Anyway, thank you for your blog & I look forward toreading more of your posts. Keep on keeping on! : ) Thanks : )

  3. I am in my late 60’s but very young at heart. I was always “skinny” even after 5 pregnancies but my big belly and midriff caught up with me about 7 years ago…quite a shock when you’ve always been slender. Anyways, my doctor told me it was hormonal which I would love to blame this on but I think alot of it is just eating too much fat foods and carbs. I am not obese but very uncomfortable with my belly and how I feel…skin issues, bloating and tiredness.
    A friend just showed me her book on Lose the Wheat Lose the Weight and I have ordered my own b/cause there are lots of recipes in the book which help me stick with the program.
    I have enjoyed reading your blog and the practical suggestions you made, esp. with things like revising taco shells and not spending alot on gluten free foods to replace wheat products. I am just starting to replace somethings like almond flour for wheat. I am going to make my own as I think I can get by cheaper than the 12$ one lb. bag I saw on the health food aisle.
    Thanks for your blog and for the humor and uplifting way you share how you deal with where you are now.

  4. Hey there – greetings from Devon in the UK. Have just discovered your blog – what a joy!! SO much common sense, love the humour and adore the doggy pics.
    Having had a healthy salad for lunch (felt great) and then eaten a cereal bar which almost instantly drained me of all energy and left me needing a nap, (not easy when you work full time and don’t fit under your desk!) realise that I need to address the wheat thing once and for all. You have inspired me to get going – keep up the good work. Best wishes

Leave a Reply

