My Easy, Protein-Rich, Gluten-Free Meal!

Hey, Wheatbeaters!

This meal is one of my favourite things to make for lunch. I whip up a huge batch of it that lasts the entire work week, and it totally takes the hassle out of packing lunches. It has a ton of protein too, so it keeps me full until dinner and nixes all those pesky carb cravings. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 can black beans (or bean medley)
  • 1 can diced baby corns
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1/4 red onion
  • cilantro

One of the best things about this meal is that it doesn’t need any dressing. The cilantro packs quite the flavour-punch, so it doesn’t lack taste. It’s really easy—just dice up all the veggies, put it in a bowl, and mix! I find that the amount of cilantro needed depends on who is eating it. Some people love eating it (me!) and some would rather just a hint of it. Either way, it’s really important in this meal. 

If you’re still kind of weening yourself onto the low-carb bandwagon, putting this on top of a small bowl of rice or rice noodles might make it more appealing to you. However, I don’t think it needs anything. It’s seriously delicious and great if you’re on a budget! The whole thing cost about $8 for 5 days worth of lunches! Quite the bargain, if you ask me. 

Sorry for the terrible cell phone pictures. I’m awaiting a new camera battery 😦

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “My Easy, Protein-Rich, Gluten-Free Meal!

Leave a Reply

